FAA Announces Membership and First Meeting of Drone Advisory Committee

September 2, 2016

The Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) has announced the membership and scheduled the first meeting of the Drone Advisory Committee (DAC) established earlier this year to advise the FAA on key issues related to the integration of unmanned aircraft systems (UAS) into the National Airspace System.  With assistance from the Radio Technical Commission for Aeronautics (RTCA), the FAA has named to the committee 35 individuals representing a wide variety of stakeholder perspectives.  Chaired by Brian Krzanich of Intel, the DAC includes representatives of trade associations for the manned and unmanned aircraft industries, UAS manufacturers, government contractors, private universities, state and local governments, and companies from several industries that have been exploring commercial UAS applications, among others.

The inaugural DAC meeting will be held at 9:00 a.m. on September 16 at the Center for Strategic and International Studies, 1616 Rhode Island Avenue, NW, Washington, DC, 20036.  Members of the public must preregister for the meeting here, and attendance will be limited based on space availability.  The meeting agenda is available here.  The FAA’s press release indicates that the DAC will meet at least three times per year. 

A full list of DAC members is below.  More information is available on RTCA’s website.

Members of the Drone Advisory Committee:

Brian Krzanich, Intel (Chair)
Greg Agvent, CNN
Deborah Ale Flint, Los Angeles World Airports
Juan Alonso, Stanford University
Mark Baker, Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association
Jaz Banga, Airspace Technologies
Linden Blue, General Atomics Aeronautical Systems
Robert Boyd, Riley County, Kansas
Tim Canoll, Air Line Pilots Association
Nancy Egan, 3D Robotics
Trish Gilbert, National Air Traffic Controllers Association
Martin Gomez-Vesclir, Facebook
Todd Graetz, BNSF Railway
David Greene, Wisconsin Department of Transportation, Bureau of Aeronautics
Ryan Hartman, Insitu
Robert Isom, American Airlines
Gur Kimchi, Amazon Prime Air
Ed Lee, San Francisco, California
Nancy Leveson, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Dave Mathewson, Academy of Model Aeronautics
Nan Mattai, Rockwell Collins
Houston Mills, UPS
Marily Mora, Reno-Tahoe Airport Authority
Christopher Penrose, AT&T
Steven Rush, Professional Helicopter Pilots Association
Lillian Ryals, The MITRE Corporation
Robie Samanta Roy, Lockheed Martin
Paola Santana, Matternet
Ed Sayadian, Harris Corporation
Brendan Schulman, DJI Technology
Phil Straub, Garmin International
Dave Vos, Google X
Brian Wynne, Association for Unmanned Vehicle Systems International
Robert Young, PrecisionHawk
Matthew Zuccaro, Helicopter Association International

Read Time: 2 min
Jump to top of page

Necessary Cookies

Necessary cookies enable core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility. You may disable these by changing your browser settings, but this may affect how the website functions.

Analytical Cookies

Analytical cookies help us improve our website by collecting and reporting information on its usage. We access and process information from these cookies at an aggregate level.