Reminder: EAS-Related Registration and Filing Due

August 22, 2016

On Friday, the Federal Communications Commission’s (FCC) Public Safety and Homeland Security Bureau issued a Public Notice reminding Emergency Alert System (EAS) Participants of mandatory filing deadlines related to an up-coming nationwide EAS test.  Specifically, EAS Participants must register with the EAS Test Reporting System (ETRS) and file Form One on or before August 26, 2016.  EAS Participants have until September 26, 2016 to edit their Form One filings. Two other forms – the aptly named “Form Two” and “Form Three” – are due on September 28, 2016 and November 14, 2016, respectively.  EAS Participants may register for the ETRS system and file Form One here.

The filings are required pursuant to a nationwide EAS test scheduled for September 28, 2016 at 2:20 pm EDT.

EAS Participants must use ETRS to file identifying information every year, as well as file their results following a nationwide EAS test.  Radio and television stations (including LPFM, Class A, and LPTV stations) are required to file in ETRS, as are cable systems, DBS and SDARS services.

The Public Notice provides a link to a webinar explaining how to register for ETRS and file Form One.  Attached to the Public Notice is the revised EAS Operating Handbook, a copy of which must be located at normal duty positions or EAS equipment locations when an operator is required to be on duty and be immediately available to staff responsible for administering EAS tests.  The Handbook must be in place in time for the September 2016 nationwide EAS test.

Read Time: 1 min
Jump to top of page

Necessary Cookies

Necessary cookies enable core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility. You may disable these by changing your browser settings, but this may affect how the website functions.

Analytical Cookies

Analytical cookies help us improve our website by collecting and reporting information on its usage. We access and process information from these cookies at an aggregate level.